Winning Seasons Continue For SOU Wrestling

After wrapping up winning season No. 40 in 2010, the Southern Oregon wrestling team entered 2011 with the main aim of continuing such a dominating winning legacy.

When the Raiders easily routed Pacific on January 22, they recorded a record 41st winning season.

An impressive feat for an even more impressive team.

Opening the seaon with their usual Intrasquad match, Southern Oregon showed just why the wrestling department has dominated the win column and for so long.

Both squad veterans and new members put in some solid performances with Tommie Hooper and Kyle Wirkuty, both All-Americans, as well as Tucker Van Matre, Justin Mills, Nick Van Matre and Robert Ross all having standout nights.

As the seaon progressed, the Raiders relied on every member to help the program record not only a record winning season but also dominate regionally and nationally.

Southern Oregon managed to grab the NAIA West Qualifying Title to qualify for the NAIA National Championships.

In 2010 the Raiders had several members walk away as national championships including Mitchell Lofstedt who was named as the Ad Rutschman Male Small College Athlete of the Year Award in January.

This season however, the Raiders were unlucky not to walk away with a few titles after impressive individual performances.

Despite coming up empty at Nationals, the Raiders had four members earn All-American honors as well as several earning academic accolades.

Leave a Reply